borneo island for sa swim suit

SA Rugby Magazine has sent me to Borneo Island, in Malaysia, for their SA Swimsuit Magazine. On my days here I’ll be covering the behind the scenes activities with seven models.

They include Candice Boucher, Nicole Meyer, Rosette Mogomotsi, Derryn Lester, Jayden Ashley Robison, Xenia Deli and Careen Truter, who was declared the winner of the 2013 SA Swimsuit Model Search competition.

Gaya Island Resort

Gaya Island Resort

This is Day One report:

On any given day, a 7am wake-up call, even on a Saturday, would not be a demanding or unusual event. But this is no ordinary Saturday. It takes me a couple of seconds to realise that my surroundings have changed dramatically in the past 24 hours or so: my bed is deliciously comfortable, there’s aircon bringing a soothing coolness to the room; there’s also a lot of white – white walls, white duvet, even the towels and bathtub are white, creating a serene atmosphere, making me want to curl up a little longer. Wooden floors make a delightful contrast, adding a touch of warmth to the room, together with the wooden blinds which kept me cocooned in darkness until my wake-up call. A different room, in a different country … yes, this day will definitely be different.

This early call is at Gaya Island Resort, off the coast of Kota Kinabalu, Borneo, where the only form of traffic is a host of smiling staff members, all of whom seem to be competing in a ‘who-can-make-you-happier’ game. The service is here is heavenly, which I suppose makes me a goddess of sorts …

The level of service is one of the first things I notice; an amazing hospitality and true sense of giving rather than serving. It is something unexpected; a factor so rare that I am taken aback, questioning its sincerity. I guess I’ve been in my ‘world’ for far too long; this world offers a unique friendliness, making me feel that no request would be too big – but then, I’ve already mentioned that this is going to be a different day.

Mainstay Moments

Mainstay Moments

This is day one on location for SA Swimsuit, in continue reading

2 thoughts on “borneo island for sa swim suit

Leave a Reply

