ease back… with prolific interviews

blog

I have never been a ‘half measures’ type of person. This is not always a good thing, as this propensity sometimes manifests itself in a number of ways.

But in my experience (and I guess, depending on the side of the scale you’re on), this trait has proved more as an advantage than fault.

The last time I fully engaged on this page was in 2014. One of the toughest years of my young life. Honestly, I can write a book about the year alone, but that will not be today.

Today I want to share a post that will give you a glimpse of what I’ve been doing this past year. Short story – even shorter – I got my dream job in the form of a Sports Journalism gig at eNCA and Kaya FM .

Those who follow my other pages, mainly Twitter know all of this. If you don’t follow me you can rectify that HERE and here’s a quick summary.

blog

Kaya Kate

I resigned from a paying job to take on a six month internship on a stipend. It was by no means the most impulsive decision I’ve ever made. But the kicker was three Months with my stepid I was offered a paying job by a radio station that has taken ‘Talk Radio’ by storm in this country.

Due to conditions of the offer, I ultimately turned it down. That was the most heartbreaking decision I’ve ever made. But in faith I was sure it would be a fulfilling choice to date.

Although I have so many horror stories about this choice that could break your heart (too), I have an even larger book of pages that will make you want to chase your own dream. Today I have this job I wouldn’t trade for anything in this world.

Coming back to ‘not neglecting my blog’ again and not doing anything by half measures…

eNCA / eTV has a football show that has been on air since I was in high school (if not longer). The show is called eShibobo.

Over the past year I’ve had a number of inserts on the show, but lately I’ve been doing the ‘Interview of the Week’ segment. They’ve been the most fun I’ve had on the channel. And I thought I’d share the last two with you.

Firstly here is the interview with Benni McCarthy. As South Africa’s most successful footballer, he needs absolutely no introduction.

Watch it HERE .

Blog Motaung

Then witness the most nerve-wrecking moments of my existence as I try to have a conversation with Founder and Chairman of this country’s most supported club, Kaizer Chiefs. I mean how do you ‘just have a conversation’ with Kaizer Motaung Snr without losing it?

I’ll be honest with you I have not seen this interview. Why don’t you watch it HERE and let me know?

How’s that for a comeback? I did say no ‘half-measures’ my chinas.

All together now: “Welcome back, Kate.”

Click below links if you want to see some of my reports on the channel.

SA Baseball Team Could Cancel World Cup Due to Lack of Funds

Vasco da Gama v Sundowns Nedbank Cup Semi-Final Preview

SA Champ Barely Afford His Next Meal

Disabled Golfers Meet

2 thoughts on “ease back… with prolific interviews

  1. Man that is an inspiring story. Hi Kate, I’m a fellow blogger and aspiring sports journo too. I’d like to first apologize for commenting so late to this post as I just recently discovered ur blog. I’d also like to congratulate u on ur achievements. Wishing u all the best with ur career going forward, I will now start watching eShibobo again 😉

Leave a Reply

